5 Fact Friday – Behind the Scenes Inspiration

Hello Lovelies … yes I know it’s now Saturday, actually Sunday by the time I publish this, but I couldn’t get to this until now and didn’t want to miss out on this fun assignment. I plan on getting next Friday’s in on time.

First and foremost I wanted to create something special for it.  I laughed and giggled at Kim and Xanthe’s antics … oh my gosh so funny!  Of course then my mind went blank. You’d think I’d have something more interesting to share for our first ever 5 Fact Friday wouldn’t you?

Here is my Creation.  The original is a combination of the Moon shot from this past week’s full moon and Pt. Wilson Light at Port Townsend WA in the USA

Happy BC Day in … BC of course, and the rest of the provinces that are celebrating a great long weekend! Hope you’re all having a safe and happy summer.

I was outside shooting the full moon a couple of nights ago. I wish I could get closer, I don’t have any doubler or tube extensions. Only my 75 – 300 mm Nikkor which with digital makes it a 450mm so that’s not too bad. I have painstakingly tried to get sharp shots for years. These were not too bad.  SEE CAMERA SETTINGS BELOW for Shooting the MOON

Thanks to Kim Klassen and her extraordinary textures. I used kk confusion over the whole piece twice and masked out the moon. This image had so many layers that I ended up saving then making a jpeg before I even got to the five facts section. Then I added the stars, the lights in the windows and on the lighthouse. I was having trouble with some of my layers on the first concoction to the point of frustration. Better to save and change things than to risk losing it all.

5 Fact Friday – Pt Wilson Light, Port Townsend, WA

Moonrise over Point Wilson

August Moon

The settings for shooting the moon with my DSLR Nikon D2x using a Nikon Nikkor Zoom 75mm to 300mm 1:4.5-5.6 Lens  (which ends up being 450mm on a digital camera)

MANUAL Settings – Exposure 1/60 Sec, at F8 , Daylight or Sun White Balance, Manual focus set to infinity, on a tripod and using a cable release or remote if you have it.

Wouldn’t ya know, I trekked way out back of my house in the dark, set it all up only to realize I had forgotten my cable release back at the house. Oh well, … held my breath and the tripod steady as I could.

Much more detail can be achieved with a larger lens of course but also with Extension Tubes or Doubler both of which I do now have =0(

I have always wanted to get those cool shots we see where every crater is visable practically … so awesome. Maybe one day I’ll have the opportunity to use them or learn how to achieve an even sharper image with what I have.

Moonbeams and Starlight Dreams

Thanks for indulging me dear friends.

Until the next thought …

xo Joy

2 thoughts on “5 Fact Friday – Behind the Scenes Inspiration

Leave a Reply

